Sudip Kulung wins Tenzing-Hillary Everest Marathon 2014

Sudip Kulung wins Tenzing-Hillary Everest Marathon 2014

Sudip Kulung Rai has clinched the title of the Tenzing-Hillary Everest Marathon 2014 finishing 42 km full marathon in 3 hours, 52 minutes and 9 seconds on Thursday.

Similarly, Bhim Bahadur Gurung stood second completing the race with the timing of 3 hours, 53 minutes and 58 seconds while Suman Kulung Rai finished third at 4 hours, 8 minutes and 10 seconds.

In the foreign category, Polish nationals have dominated the event in the foreigners’ open category as Polish Robert Celinski and Radaek Serwinski secured first and second spots respectively while UK’s Timothy Watson finished third with the timing of 5 hours and 45 minutes.

Celinski took 4 hours, 39 minutes and 39 seconds to complete the race as Serwinski finished the race at 5 hours, 43 minutes and 5 seconds.

Ang Chuttin Sherpa completed the race in 5 hours, 8 minutes and 5 seconds to win women’s full marathon while Mingma Lhamu Sherpa stood second with the timing of 5 hours, 8 minutes and 45 seconds and Lhahak Futi Sherpa took 5 hours and 22 minutes to finish third.

In the half marathon category, Australian Karl David Turkovic, Belgian Jeremy Kersten and Australian Amanda Ryan dominated the top three places.

Meanwhile, Samir Tamang won the Everest Extreme Ultra 60 km completing the race at 7 hours, 17 minutes and 55 seconds while Homlal Shrestha clinched second place with the timing of 7 hours, 38 minutes and 15 seconds. D.B. Kulung Rai stood third as he completed the race at 8 hours, 36 minutes and 20 seconds.

Himalayan Expedition has been organising the event on every May 29 for the past 11 years to commemorate the day Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and Sir Edmund Hillay conquered the world’s highest peak, Mt. Everest, for the first time on May 29, 1953.

Himalayan Expedition started organising the 60km Extreme Challenge since last year to celebrate the diamond jubilee (60 years) of the first ascent of Mt Everest.

Source: Nepalnews