Nepal to take on Uganda in ICC WCL Division 3 inaugural match

Nepal to take on Uganda in ICC WCL Division 3 inaugural match

Nepal will take on Uganda in the inaugural match of the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cricket League Division 3 tournament on October 23, 2014 at Kinrara Oval Stadium in Puchong, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

According to the fixtures of the tournament announced by ICC on Tuesday, Nepal will take on Bermuda in its second match on October 24, Singapore on October 26, USA on October 27 and host Malaysia on October 29.

The tournament matches will be held across three grounds — Kinrara, Bayeumas and Selangor Turf Club — with the tournament final to be played at Kinrara on October 30, 2014.
The two finalists will get promoted to Pepsi ICC WCL Division 2 to be played in Namibia from January 17 to 24.

Pepsi ICC WCL Division 2 is the final step in the qualification pathway to the ICC’s four-day, first-class competition for Associate and Affiliate Members, the ICC Intercontinental Cup, and the 50-over Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship, said ICC in a statement.

Nepal’s squad includes — Paras Khadka (Captain), Gyanendra Malla (Vice-captain), Subash Khakurel, Sharad Vesawkar, Shakti Prasad Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Binod Bhandari, Sompal Kami, Sagar Pun, Mahaboob Alam, Bhuban Karki, Md. Aarif Sheikh, Naresh Bahadur Budhayer and Amrit Bhattarai.

23 October – Nepal v Uganda (Kinrara), USA v Bermuda (Bayeumas), Malaysia v Singapore (Selangor Turf Club)
24 October – Uganda v Singapore (Kinrara), Malaysia v USA (Bayeumas), Bermuda v Nepal (Selangor Turf Club)
25 October – Rest/reserve day
26 October – Malaysia v Bermuda (Kinrara), Nepal v Singapore (Bayeumas), USA v Uganda (Selangor Turf Club)
27 October – Nepal v USA (Kinrara), Malaysia v Uganda (Bayeumas), Bermuda v Singapore (Selangor Turf Club)
28 October – Rest/reserve day
29 October – USA v Singapore (Kinrara), Uganda v Bermuda (Bayeumas), Malaysia v Nepal (Selangor Turf Club)
30 October – Final (Kinrara), 3rd v 4th play-off (Bayeumas), 5th v 6th play-off (Selangor Turf Club)

Source: Nepalnews