Nepal beats Bermuda by eight wickets in ICC WCL Division 3

Nepal has defeated Bermuda by eight wickets in its second match of the ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 3 tournament played at the Selangor Turf Club, Kuala Lumpur, on Friday, October 24, 2014.

After winning the toss, Nepal sent Burmuda in to bat and restricted them just to 100 runs in 40.1 overs.

Amrit Bhattarai, Basant Regmi and Shakti Gauchan took two wickets each while Sompal Kami and Sagar Pun took a wicket a piece.

Photo Courtesy: International Cricket Council

For Burmuda, Christian Burgess scored highest 28 runs while Tre Manders made 21 runs, Janeiro J Tucker 17 runs and Terryn Sunil Fray 10 runs.

Nepal chased down the 101 target in 11.1 overs for the loss of two wickets. Binod Bhandari score 43 runs, Subash Khakurel 30 runs and skipper Paras Khadka 14 runs.

Earlier, Nepal got its first break on the last ball of the fourth over when Amrit Bhattarai got Janeiro J Tucker out caught by Subash Khakurel, with Bermuda at 18 runs.

Bermuda was 29 for 2 in the 10th over after it lost Terryn Sunil Fray.

Christian Burgess and Tre Manders then built up a resistance and in a ten over partnership of 48 runs. Burgess, who had struck four fours on his way to 28 from 40 balls, was caught short of the crease when Nepal’s wicket-keeper Subash Khakurel took his bails down off a throw from Naresh Bahadur Budhayer and Bermuda was now 77 for three in the 20th over.

Tre Manders lasted for four more overs. Paras Khadka caught him off Basant Regmi’s first delivery in the 24th over. Mander’s departure with the scores at 82 runs, triggered a Bermuda collapse as a wicket fell almost every over after that.

Bermuda lost its next four wickets for just 4 runs.

New batsman LOB Cann was run out in the fourth ball of the 25th over, DC Stovell — who managed to survive 18 delivaries for for 5 runs, was out in the fourth ball of the 26th over, as Bermuda lost two wickets with the scores at 86.

MO Jones was then out on the fourth ball of the 27th over and AC Douglas in the second last ball of the 29th over, at 89 runs and 90 respectively.

Photo Courtesy: International Cricket Council

Down, 90 for eight, KS Leverock and DMW Rawlins made a rearguard stand to stop the tide of wickets, as they dug in to survive 11 overs together.

The duo frustrated Nepali bowlers as Leverock played 30 deliveries scoring eight, including one four, and Rawlins made just one run but managed to hold on to his wicket for 37 deliveries. Rawlins was the last man out at 100.

 Bermuda had its hopes up when Tucker had Naresh Budhayer out leg before for 6 runs off 7 balls in the second ball of the third over with the scores at 21.

Opener Subash Khakurel and Binod Bhandari then took Nepal to 76, when Khakurel was caught by Burgess off Leverock’s balling in the 10th over. Captain Paras Khadka and Bhandari then finished it off for Nepal, Khadka scoring a quick-fire 14 off 7 deilveries and Bhandari making 43 off 31 with a six and eight fours.

Nepal now have bit of breathing space after its 20 run defeat at the hands of Uganda in its inaugural match on Thursday.

Now, Nepal will take on Singapore on October 26, the USA on October 27 and the host Malaysia on October 29.

The tournament is being held across three grounds — Kinrara, Bayeumas and Selangor Turf Club — with the final to be played at Kinrara on October 30, 2014.

The two finalists from the tournament will advance to the ICC WCL Division 2, to be played in Namibia from January 17 to 24, 2015.

The ICC WCL Division 2 is the final step in the qualification path to ICC’s four-day first-class competition for Associate and Affiliate Members — the ICC Intercontinental Cup, and the 50-over ICC World Cricket League Championship, according to ICC.


Paras Khadka (Captain), Gyanendra Malla (Vice-captain), Subash Khakurel, Sharad Vesawkar, Shakti Prasad Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Binod Bhandari, Sompal Kami, Sagar Pun, Mahaboob Alam, Bhuban Karki, Md Aarif Sheikh, Naresh Bahadur Budhayer and Amrit Bhattarai

Source: Nepalnews