Nat’l cricket team off to Malaysia for ACC Men’s Premier League

Nepali National Cricket Team has left the country  on Tuesday afternoon to participate in the ACC Men’s Premier League that is scheduled to be held from April 29 to May 8 in Malaysia.

The national squad includes captain Paras Khadka, vice-captain Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Vesawkar, Sompal Kami, Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Rajkumar Pradhan, Binod Bhandari, Mehaboob Alam, Naresh Bahadur Budhayair, Sagar Pun, Ramnaresh Giri, Aarif Sheikh and Subash Khakurel.

Similarly, Bhuwan Karki, Puspa Thapa and Yagya Man Kumal are the reserve players. Likewise, coach Pubudu Dassanayake and management team are also with the team.

The Ministry of Youth and Sports bade a farewell to the team wishing best of luck amid a function here in the capital on Monday.

“As of our potentials, we can give good performance despite all the participating teams are competitive,” said captain Khadka.

Khadka also termed the tournament an opportunity to advance to the Two-Day format. However, Nepal has to finish top four.

The participating teams include Nepal, host Malaysia, UAE, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Oman.

Coach Dassanayake hoped that Nepal will give good performance in the tournament as it had played lots of matches in the last six months.

Nepal will take on UAE in its inaugural match on May 1, while it will play against host Malaysia on May 2, Oman on May 4, Hong Kong on May 5 and Afghanistan on May 7.

Meanwhile, Youth and Sports Minister Purusottam Poudel also assured additional awards to the team, if it is successful in the tournament.

The tournament will be held under ODI format while the result of the league will be based on ranking of points-table. The top four teams will qualify for the ACC Championship.

The tournament has been formed from the former ACC Trophy Elite Competition. This will be the first international tournament for Nepal after successful participation in the ICC World T20 held in Bangladesh recently.

Source: Nepalnews