CIAA detains 23 PU officials including VC Bhattarai

The Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) on Monday detained 23 officials of the Pokhara University (PU) including its Vice-Chancellor (VC) Khagendra Prasad Bhattarai for investigations into alleged anomalies. 

Issuing a press statement, CIAA said 23 former and incumbent officials of the University were detained for probing allegations that they misappropriated the university fund. 

The detentions were made as per the Section 16(1) of the CIAA Act, 1991.

“The accused may conceal or destroy the evidence and adversely affect the action being undertaken by the Commission” if allowed to work in their positions, said the anti-corruption constitutional watchdog. 

The detained include the then Executive Council members Indra Prasad Tiwari, Bhawani Prasad Pandey, Gyaneshwor Sharma, Chandramani Paudel, and Ishwar Chandra Baniya; current Executive Council member Deepak Raj Paudel and Registrar Man Bahadur KC, among others.

Likewise, former VC Keshar Jung Baral, former Registrar Om Prakash Sharma, and incumbent Examination Controller Balaram Bhattarai were also held. 

The Commission is searching the absconding Engineer Suresh Baral. 

Source: THT